ASEAN Key Figures

  • ASEAN: Association of Southeast Asian Nations created in 1967.
  • Geo-political and economic organisation of 10 countries: the Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam.
  • 3rd largest trading bloc in the worldafter the European Union and the North American Trade Union.
  • Governments of all ASEAN countries understand the huge significance of investing in infrastructure to reap the envisioned economic benefitsof a more connected region through enhanced trade, investment, tourism and development.
  • ASEAN would need about US$60 billion a year till 2022to fulfil its infrastructure needs
  • An ASEAN Infrastructure Fund(AIF) was launched in April 2012 with an estimated total lending commitment of up to US$300 million a year. AIF is expected to fund about 6 infrastructure projects each year.


Thailand: a MAJOR player in the ASEAN construction market

  • Central location in the region
  • Transport and logistic hub
  • Regional manufacturing powerhouse

Major construction projects in the country

  • Expansion of the sky train Green Line: investment of US$1.78 Billion
  • Expansion of the railway network for 2015-2018: investment of US$1.92 Billion
  • Approved water-management project: investment of US$1.7 Billion
  • Road development between 2012 and 2022: highway apart from Phahon Yothin Road, road link from Mukdahan to the Eastern Seaboard, transport route for Thai entrepreneurs using Laos as a production base, etc.
  • and many more…